madnes | secure mobile ad-hoc networks and sensors | Samos 06

secure mobile ad-hoc networks and sensors

call for papers

Samos .:. August 31 - September 1, 2006

madnes 06 .:. [ call for papers ]
Acrobat PDF Click on the box to the left to download a PDF version of this document.

The MADNES’06 conference will be held in conjunction with the ISC’06 conference in Samos, Greece, co-sponsored by the SAIT Laboratory and the U.S. Army Research Office. Conference dates are scheduled for August 31 - September 1, 2006.


The MADNES conference accepts original research papers on all security and fault tolerance aspects of constrained network environments. Topics of interest include, but are not limited to, the following aspects of mobile ad-hoc networks (MANETS), mobile agents, sensor networks and radio frequency devices (RFID):

  • Security, privacy, and fault tolerance in MANETS, sensor networks, and RFIDs
  • Security and privacy applications of mobile agents and intelligent autonomous systems
  • Distributed denial of service attacks and defenses
  • Mobile code security and verification
  • Key management and trust infrastructures
  • Security, privacy, and efficiency trade-offs
  • Secure distributed algorithms
  • Secure and private protocols for dynamic group applications
  • Secure location, discovery and authentication of neighbors
  • Secure timing and synchronization
  • Secure/private data collection and aggregation
  • Secure self-configuration
  • Secure routing
  • Analysis and simulation of security and privacy properties
  • Energy efficient cryptography
  • Other security related properties of MANETs, sensor networks, and RFIDs
  • Case Studies

paper submissions

instructions for authors

All papers must be submitted electronically by the new deadline of June 12, 2006 @ 5.00pm EDT. Secure MADNES’06 submission and review is managed by the COCUS system. You must first register an account, or if already registered, login to COCUS at the following URL:

All submitted papers should be in PDF format. The llncs style is available for download at COCUS and is optional (but strongly recommended) for initial submission and required for the camera-ready version.

Submissions must not substantially duplicate works that have been published or that are simultaneously submitted to a journal or a conference/workshop with proceedings. Each paper should begin with a title, a short abstract, and a list of keywords. Papers should be in Portable Document Format (.pdf), approximately 12 pages excluding bibliography and appendices, and approximately 18 pages total using at least 11-point fonts and with reasonable margins. Committee members are not required to read appendices; the paper should be intelligible without them. Submissions not meeting these guidelines risk rejection without consideration of their merits. It is strongly preferred that submissions be processed in LaTeX according to the instructions at comp/lncs/authors.html, since this will be a mandatory requirement for the final version of papers. Authors of an accepted paper must guarantee that at least one of the authors will attend the conference and present their paper.

The proceedings of Secure MADNES’05 will be published in a Springer volume (LNCS). We expect that the proceedings of Secure MADNES’06 will be similarly published as a volume through a prestigious scientific outlet.

staff & committee members

General Chairs

  • Mike Burmester (Florida State University, USA)
  • Stefanos Gritzalis (University of the Aegean, Greece)

Program Chairs

  • Mike Burmester (Florida State University, USA)
  • Breno de Medeiros (Florida State University, USA)

Program Committee

  • N. Asokan (Nokia Research Center, Finland)
  • Giuseppe Ateniese (Johns Hopkins University, USA)
  • John Baras (University of Maryland, USA)
  • Sonja Buchegger (University of California, USA)
  • Levente Buttyan (Budapest University of Technology and Economics, Hungary)
  • Stephen Carter (Raytheon Corporation, USA)
  • Bruce Christianson (University of Hertfordshire, UK)
  • Jim Davis (Iowa State University, USA)
  • Christos Douligeris (University of Piraeus, Greece)
  • Zygmunt Haas (Cornell University, USA)
  • Fritz Hohl (Sony International Europe GmbH, Germany)
  • Kwanjo Kim (Information & Communications Univ, Korea)
  • Panayiotis Kotzanikolaou (University of Piraeus, Greece)
  • Evangelos Kranakis (Carleton University, Canada)
  • Chris Mitchell (Royal Holloway University of London, UK)
  • René Peralta (National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST), USA)
  • Rei Safavi-Naini (University of Wollongong, Australia)
  • Doug Tygar (University of California, USA)
  • Tri van Le (Florida State University, USA)
  • Cliff Wang (Army Research Office, USA)
  • André Weimerskirch (Ruhr-University of Bochum, Germany)
  • Susanne Wetzel (Stevens Institute of Technology, USA)
  • Alec Yasinsac (Florida State University, USA)
  • Moti Yung (Columbia University, USA)

For more information, please contact a member of our staff below:

SAITArmy Research OfficeCOCUS / COmprehensive Conference management UtilitieS DatamaxxFSU